Google Translate
Contact Us

The Curriculum

The National Curriculum

Statutory Requirements

The National Curriculum applies to pupils of compulsory school age in all local authority maintained schools. It is organised on the basis of four key stages.

Key stage 1: Ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)

Key stage 2: Ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)

Key stage 3: Ages 11-14 (Years 7-9)

Key stage 4: Ages 14-16 (Years 10-11)

At key stages 1 and 2 the statutory subjects that all pupils must study are English maths, science, art, design and technology, geography, history, computing, mathematics, music, physical education, religious education, pshe.

In KS2 children are taught a modern foreign language. At East Dene Primary this is French.

The National curriculum forms one part of a child’s education. There is time and space in the school day and in each week, term and year to range beyond the national curriculum specifications. The national curriculum provides an outline of core knowledge around which teachers can develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote the development of pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum.

 Further Links